Find a practitioner · Readings
How much does a tarot reading cost?
Last updated
A tarot reading costs what the reader charges for the size of the reading: one question costs least, a full written spread more, a live session more again. The figures on this page are not a survey or a rate card. They are computed from every live tarot listing on Divina and move when readers change their prices.
Tarot reading prices on Divina right now
Updated from 70 live tarot listings
Tarot readings on Divina start at $5, and most are $10 to $28, across 70 live tarot listings from 30 independent readers. One-question readings: from $5 (most $7.77–$12); full or in-depth spreads: from $8 (most $15–$25). Every price is flat, set by the reader, and shown before you pay.
By price
| Price | Listings | Share |
|---|---|---|
| Free | 0 | 0% |
| Under $15 | 24 | 34% |
| $15 to $39.99 | 38 | 54% |
| $40 to $99.99 | 8 | 11% |
| $100 and up | 0 | 0% |
By size of reading
| Size | Starts at | Most cost | Listings |
|---|---|---|---|
| One question or one card | $5 | $7.77–$12 | 8 |
| Three-card spread | $5 | $10–$20 | 18 |
| Full or in-depth spread (five cards or more) | $8 | $15–$25 | 10 |
| Size not stated in the title | $5 | $11.99–$39 | 34 |
By delivery window
| Delivered | Starts at | Most cost | Listings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Within one day | $5 | $12–$28 | 43 |
| Two days or longer | $5 | $10–$29 | 27 |
Written or live
| Format | Starts at | Most cost | Listings |
|---|---|---|---|
| Written reading | $5 | $10–$25 | 66 |
| Live session | $25 | $35–$37 | 4 |
What drives the price of a tarot reading
- The size of the reading. One card answering one question is minutes of work; a ten-card spread written up properly is hours. This is the biggest single factor, which is why the table above splits by it.
- How much is written. Two readers can pull the same three cards and deliver a paragraph or two pages. The listing usually says which; if it does not, ask before you order.
- Turnaround. A reader who answers the same day is moving your order ahead of other work, and some price that in.
- Written or live. A live session holds a block of the reader's time at a fixed hour, which a written reading does not.
- The reader. Experience and demand move prices in tarot as in any other skilled work, and two good readers can reasonably charge very differently for the same spread.
What a fair price looks like
Compare like with like. A one-question pull and a Celtic Cross are different purchases, and the cheapest listing on the site is not competing with the most expensive one. The format breakdown above is the fairest comparison available: it puts one-question readings next to other one-question readings, and full spreads next to full spreads.
Within a format, look at what you actually receive rather than the headline number: how many questions are answered, how long the written reading is, whether you get photos of the cards, and whether the reader will answer a clarifying question afterwards. A reading that costs a little more and answers the question you asked is better value than a cheaper one you cannot use.
Written readings and live sessions
Most tarot on Divina is written: you send the question, the reader pulls and interprets the spread, and you receive something you can re-read later. A smaller number of readers sell live sessions over chat or video, priced by the session rather than by the minute. The table above shows both where both exist. A written reading suits a question you want to sit with; a live session suits one you want to talk through.
Red flags, at any price
- A cheap introductory rate that turns into a per-minute meter. The price you should compare is the full cost of the reading you want, not the cost of the first few minutes.
- A reading that ends in an upsell: the cards have revealed a curse, a block or a dark entity, and it can be removed for a larger fee. On Divina a practitioner cannot turn a reading into a pitch for fear-based work.
- Any guarantee. "100% accurate", "your ex will return", "results in seven days". No honest reader can promise an outcome, and none on Divina may.
- A price you only learn after describing your problem. A fair reader tells you what the reading costs before they know how worried you are.
- A request for more money to finish a reading that has already been paid for.
How these figures are calculated
Every listing counted is live on Divina at the time the page was generated: active, from a shop that is open, and not a demonstration listing. A listing counts as tarot when its title or keywords name tarot or cards and it is a reading or a session rather than a spell or a prayer, the same rule that decides what appears under Tarot when you browse. Oracle, angel and other non-tarot decks are left out unless the listing also names tarot. Divina's own house storefronts are left out too, because this page reports what independent readers charge.
Prices are the listing prices readers set. The buyer service fee shown at checkout is not included, because it does not vary by reader. The format split reads the size of the reading off the listing title, so a listing whose title names no size is counted as not stated rather than guessed at. The figures refresh through the day as the page is regenerated, and the date above says when they were computed.
What you pay on Divina
Every tarot listing on Divina is flat-priced by the reader and the full price is shown before you commit. There is no subscription, no per-minute billing and no charge to browse. Divina takes 10% of completed orders from the practitioner, so the price on the listing is the reader's own.
You describe your intention in your own words, pay when you place the request, and a private chat opens with the practitioner. They perform the work inside the delivery window stated on the listing and share proof when it is done.
No practitioner on Divina may guarantee an outcome, and none of this is a substitute for medical, legal, financial or mental health care.
See also: How much does a psychic reading cost?, One-question tarot readings, and how to ask the question and How to tell a real practitioner from a scam.
Common questions
How much does a tarot reading cost?
Tarot readings on Divina start at $5, and most are $10 to $28, across 70 live tarot listings from 30 independent readers. One-question readings: from $5 (most $7.77–$12); full or in-depth spreads: from $8 (most $15–$25). Every price is flat, set by the reader, and shown before you pay.
How much is a one-question tarot reading?
On Divina, 8 live tarot listings answer one question or pull one card. They start at $5, and most are $7.77 to $12.
Do same-day tarot readings cost more?
On Divina right now, tarot listings delivered within one day start at $5, and most are $12 to $28 (43 listings); those with a window of two days or longer start at $5, and most are $10 to $29 (27 listings). Both groups mix one-card pulls with full spreads, so compare readings of the same size.
Why do tarot readings vary so much in price?
Mostly the size of the reading: one card answering one question is minutes of work, a full written spread is hours. Turnaround, whether it is written or live, and the reader's own experience and demand account for most of the rest.
Is a cheaper tarot reading a worse one?
Not necessarily. A small reading priced fairly is a good purchase if it answers the question you asked. Compare listings of the same size, and look at what you receive: the length of the written reading, photos of the spread, and whether the reader answers a follow-up.
Does the listing price include Divina's service fee?
No. The listing price is the reader's own. A buyer service fee is added at checkout and shown before you pay, and the help center explains it.
Is a flat-price reading better than paying by the minute?
It is more predictable. A flat price is the whole cost whatever the length of the reading; a per-minute rate makes the cost depend on how long the conversation runs. Neither is right for everyone, but you should know the full cost before you start.
Related
- What readings costTypical prices for tarot, psychic, astrology, prayer and spell work — plus how flat-price commissions compare to per-minute reading lines, and what drives the number.
- One-question tarotWhat a one-question tarot reading can and cannot answer, how to phrase the question so the cards have something to work with, and when you need a bigger spread.
- Avoiding scamsThe specific tells of a spiritual services scam — the curse pitch, the escalating fee, the guaranteed outcome — and the questions worth asking before you pay anyone.
- Tarot readingsCommission a written tarot reading from a hand-vetted reader. What a real online reading includes, what it costs, how long it takes, and what proof you receive.
- Psychic readingsCommission an intuitive or psychic reading from a hand-vetted practitioner. What a no-tools reading is, how it differs from tarot, what it costs, and what you receive.
- On-demand tarotNeed a tarot answer today? Same-day one-question pulls from hand-vetted readers, with the delivery window stated on every listing before you pay.
The detail lives in the help center: how to commission a Working, what proof is, the refund policy, and how practitioners are vetted. If you practise rather than seek, start at practising on Divina.